British Standard

What is British Standard?

British-Insurance-Standard-Kitemark-Home-Security-TipsA British standard is a minimum standard that a product must be manufactured in accordance with before it is recognised by the relevant authorities as a quality product. Insurance companies will specify for example that all external wooden doors on domestic properties are fitted with a British Standard deadlock. The British Standard stamp is widely regarded as a sign of quality and is signified with the kitemark.

The Kitemark

The Kitemark can be used to indicate certification by the British Standard Institution, but only where a Kitemark scheme has been set up around a particular standard. It is mainly applicable to safety and quality management standards. There is a common misunderstanding that Kitemarks are necessary to prove compliance with any British standard, but in general it is neither desirable nor possible that every standard be ‘policed’ in this way.


The difference between BS and BS EN is that a “BS” (British Standard) document is generally confined to the UK and many British territories, whereas a “BS EN” (British Standard European Norm) document applies to many European countries and includes the UK

An EN number is the number given to a product to signify the standard to which that particular product has been manufactured. The EN number is an 8 digit code. Each digit represents the rating of a particular feature of the product.

If a product meets a certain EN number and conforms to the British standards it can then be classed as a BS EN product; BS indicating it meets all relevant British standards and the EN number displaying its rating within each category.


When assessing the security of your home you may want to consider upgrading your cylinder to one that protects you against the five most common methods of attack:

  • Drilling
  • Picking
  • Snapping
  • Bumping
  • Plug Extraction

The majority of kitemarked cylinders will protect your door from these types of attack but it is recommended that you stay up to date with all the new ways you can maintain your home security and equally as important, that you comply with your home insurance requirements.

TS007:2012 is a Technical Specification that has been produced in the form of a document by the Door & Hardware Federation (DHF) and the Glass and Glazing Federation (GGF). The DHF and GGF worked closely alongside Secured by Design (the Association of Chief Police Officer’s crime prevention initiative) to develop the TS007 Kitemark standard.

In order to effectively protect your home from any type of attack it is advisable to update your cylinder to one that is TS007 Kitemark standard.

Meeting the TS007 standard…

The TS007 standard is characterised by a star rating and also uses a third party certification mark, typically the Kitemark. The star rating will also be imprinted on the cylinders and door furniture. It provides a mix and match approach with the ability to interchange cylinders and security hardware giving a flexible way to achieve the three star rating.

How the TS007 star rating works

TS007-Star-Rating-System TS007-Star-Rating-System-explained

TS007 star rating explained

* 1 Star rating

For a cylinder to achieve this rating it is tested in the manner equivalent to the BS 3621:2007 and the minimum requirements of BS EN 1303:2005.

** 2 Star rating

For security hardware to receive a two star rating the protection offered by the hardware to the cylinder is tested in the manner equivalent to the PAS 24 test. In addition, where possible, the hardware’ durability and corrosion resistance are tested in accordance with the European handle standard EN 1906:2010.

*** 3 Star rating

For a cylinder to receive three stars, it must meet the requirements of the one star cylinder and also withstand an attack similar to the PAS 24 cylinder test without the benefit of any protective hardware.

close up of key cutting machine

Find your nearest Locksmith

row of terraced houses

How safe is your neighbourhood?